Select Page

Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing

BTEC is one of the world’s most successful and best-loved applied learning brands, engaging students in practical, interpersonal and
thinking skills for more than thirty years.

The Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals provides progression into the workplace either directly or via study at university and are also
designed to meet employer’s needs requirements by providing Students completing their Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing will be aiming to go on to employment or progress to a final year at university.

Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications are widely recognised by industry and higher education as the principal vocational qualification at Levels 4 and 5.

We have developed our qualifications in close collaboration with experts from professional bodies, vendors, businesses and universities.

  • British Computing Society (BCS)
  • Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
  • University of Kent
  • University of Hull
  • ISC2
  • Uxbridge College
  • The Tech Partnership
  • CompTIA
  • QA Apprenticeships
  • Cisco
  • Imago Solutions
  • National College for Digital Skills




12 Months

Awarding Body:


Mode of Study:



Units (Mandatory)                                        Unit Credit

Computing Research Project (Pearson-set)                                                           15

Business Intelligence                                                                                                 15

Transport Network Design                                                                                       15

Cloud Computing                                                                                                       15

Network Security                                                                                                        15

Select 2 Optional Units                                        Unit Credit

Information Security Management                                                                                         15

System Analysis & Design                                                                                                         15

Network Management                                                                                                               15

Client/Server Computing Systems                                                                                           15

Operating Systems                                                                                                                     15

Qualification Frameworks

Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications are designated higher education qualifications in the UK. They are aligned to the Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ) in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, and Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) Subject Benchmark Statements. These qualifications are part of the UK Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF).

This course is eligible for an Advanced Learner Loan

Job Prospects

• Network Engineer
• Systems Architect
• Computer Service and Repair
• Technician
• Network Manager


Progress further to a Level 6 course (final year University Bachelors Degree)

Mandatory Units:

  • Computing Research Project (Pearson Set)
  • Business Intelligence
  • Transport Network Design
  • Cloud Computing
  • Network Security


Two Optional Units:

  • Information Security Management
  • Systems Analysis & Design
  • Network Management
  • Client/Server Computing Systems
  • Operating Systems