Select Page

City & Guilds Diploma in ICT Systems and Principles for IT Professionals Level 3

This City & Guilds Diploma in ICT Systems & Principles Support Level 3 certification is an international vendor-neutral certification recognised by major hardware and software vendors, distributors and resellers that confirms a technician’s ability to perform tasks such as installation, configuration, diagnostics, preventitive maintenance and basic networking.

This qualification is designed to progress and excel learners who work or want to work in senior management, consultancy, integration or infrastructure design roles within the IT sector. Learners take ICT Systems Support units, covering both ICT basic and advanced knowledge, then choose a specialisation pathway to better equip them for more specialised roles.

There are two employer recognised specialisation pathways, Network Support Technician (Cisco CCNA) or Server Support Technician (Microsoft MCSA). Vendor units are mapped to awarding body units.





6-8 months

ICT Systems Support

All learners take City & Guilds Diploma in ICT Systems and Principles Level 3

  •  PC Components, Laptop Troubleshooting and Configuration
  • Printers, Peripheral Troubleshooting and Configuration
  • Network, OS Confirmation and Troubleshooting
  • Hardware, Software Installation and Data Security

Job Prospects

  • IT Technician
  • 1st/2nd/3rd Line Support
  • Hardware Engineer


  • No prior experience necessary


  • Network Infrastructure Specialist
  • Server Infrastructure Specialist
  • Cloud & Storage Specialist
  • Network Security Specialist

Specialisation Pathways

Learners choose one of the following options, either Network Support Technician or Server Support Technician


Network Support Technician

Cisco CCNA

The Cisco Certified Network Associate CCNA level certification program has been designed to better align with evolving industry job roles and provides the skills networking professionals need to successfully manage cutting edge network solutions, as Enterprises migrate toward controller based architectures, the role and skills required of a core network engineer are evolving and more vital than ever.

Exams Code     Units

7540-645          CCNA Routing and Switching – Introduction to Networks
7540-646          CCNA Routing and Switching – Routing and Switching Essentials
7540-647          CCNA Routing and Switching – Scaling Networks
7540-648          CCNA Routing and Switching – Connecting Networks




Server Support Technician


Microsoft MCSA Server 2012

The MCSA 2012 credential validates your ability to manage and troubleshoot network environments in the Windows operating system. This certification is crucial in advancing your career as an IT professional. Designed to be relevant in today’s rapidly changing IT marketplace, Microsoft Certifications help you utilise evolving technologies, fine-tune your troubleshooting skills, and improve your job satisfaction.

Exam Code         Units

7540-634            MS 410 Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012
7540-631            MS 411 Administering Windows Server 2012
7540-632            MS 412 Configuring Advanced Windows Server 2012 Services
7540-321            Testing ICT Systems




This course is eligible for an Advanced Learner Loan